Flat bar vs risers...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Flat bar vs risers...

The age old debate in the 26er world... But I'm new to 29ers. So new I haven't bought one yet!

I will be test riding a new 2011 Hei Hei 2-9 before I make my buying decision. I'm pretty sure, based on feedback from friends that a 29er is the way I want to go, but I'm curious about fit/set-up. I know there's a bit of a shift in the racing world with many people moving to risers, but I'm curious to what people are running themselves? I will be XC riding/racing, but in BC/North Shore, so...

I did a search in this forum, and there doesn't seem to be a thread dedicated to this question, so I hope its okay I started one.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    The only reason I use one or the other, is based off how much steer tube I have on the fork I am using, and if I can get the bars where I want them. Other than that I have no preference.

Ride More - Suffer Less

ballbuster

Meh....

Quote Originally Posted by Pas de Dopage
    The age old debate in the 26er world... But I'm new to 29ers. So new I haven't bought one yet!

I will be test riding a new 2011 Hei Hei 2-9 before I make my buying decision. I'm pretty sure, based on feedback from friends that a 29er is the way I want to go, but I'm curious about fit/set-up. I know there's a bit of a shift in the racing world with many people moving to risers, but I'm curious to what people are running themselves? I will be XC riding/racing, but in BC/North Shore, so...

I did a search in this forum, and there doesn't seem to be a thread dedicated to this question, so I hope its okay I started one.
    Well, 29er generally have taller front ends than 26ers, so in theory, flat bars might be more appropriate.

Then again...