Fixed gear 29er riders, what BB height on your rig?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Fixed gear 29er riders, what BB height on your rig?

hey there.

i am thinking about having a custom frame built. i ran 32x20 on a ss and i just started riding fixed at 34x18 with a shimano dx cog drilled out and bolted to my disc brake hub.

anyways, i just wanted to see what kind of bb heights/crankarm lengths you guys have on your bikes.

my current ride has a bb height of 12" and i am running 175mm cranks. i just rodred 170mm cranks and i think i want to raise the bb on a custom frame to about 12.25 or 12.5". i am pretty tall, about 6'2" and i don't thnk i want to run anything shoter than 170mm.

also, did you guys make any other tweaks in the switch from ss to fixed....maybe tweak the st angle to accomodate for shorter crankarms.

my current bike has a 73* st and that seems pretty comfortable.

again, i just started riding fixed and i am have so much fun. i have limited experiance riding fixed, but i know i am going to stick with it. i was just curious on how other fixed 29er are built.

lastly, i ride in so cal. mostlly longer fireroad climbs. but, i ride some stuff that has short steep climbing switchbacks. i haven't had a tough time with clipping my pedals here or there. but, then again, i am riding at a place i ride at 2-3 times per week, so i know every knook and cranny in the place.

TIA!!!

Needed Less ~ Did More
    I have run 3 different frames as fixies off-road. My MC and current Solitude 29er have 12" bottom bracket heights, my 26" Solitude had a 11.3" BB and I did not notice any real problems with pedal strikes. I ride a real mix of trails and find that small tree stumps are the worst

I am running 170mm cranks with a 34" inseam and 6'2" build and find them just fine. I have used 165mm and not really noticed a difference. Pedal strikes will be a factor no matter what BB / crank / frame combo you run.