Fixed gear 29er- Mtbr.com

Thread: Fixed gear 29er

Jun 2008

Fixed gear 29er

has anyone here ever tried a fixed gear 29er?
    Ive seen so many single speed 29ers that this seems a somewhat logical progression.

any ideas on this?

Really I am that slow

yup...

only about 11,000 miles this year.... about 7k on my Vassago Jabberwonky

Check out http://tomicog.blogspot.com/
    Read my BLOG!

just a guy who loves bikes and exploring

Stayin' Puft
    I don't know that "logical" is a good word to refer to fixie riding, but for snow conditions I only ride fixed. I could not imagine using pincher brakes in snow. Esp. with the 8 degree conditions today, a freewheel bike would have been sketchy.

mtbr member
    i just started riding fixed off road. its fun on tech trails.

Slummin'
    Sep 2007
    Thanks to a Tomi Cog I've been running my Redline Monocog fixed off and on for almost a year. It's a very very fun thing to do but there is a bit of a learning curve. Tomi and Fixy Dave are for sure the masters.

Give the Tomi cog a try. It's easily the cheapest way to try fixie riding.

mtbr member
    I'll let you know later this week

I wouldn't say it sounds logical either; its just sounds like a fun/tough challenge, and I'm down for that.

mtbr member
    I bought a tomi cog for my dambala last spring (I think it was the first party I had for it!)

I really wanted to be a hard core 29er fixed gear rider.. It didn't really pan out, (I find) riding fixed off road is a little terrifying. I'll try again next year. It's been great right now though, since I've turned my dambala into a fixed gear snow commuter with a 44x20 gearing.
    Last edited by bobbotron; 12-15-2008 at 09:19 AM.

Who turned out the lights