First Impressions of Hardtail 29er- Mtbr.com

Aug 2009

First Impressions of Hardtail 29er

I started riding trails last year, after 10 years of using my Specialized (rigid) Hardrock solely on roads. After roughly 30 rides (I'm a little slow in the uptake), I realized that I needed a suspension if I wanted to live another 44 years (stats: 44 years old, 200-205 lbs). I started looking hard for a replacement bike roughly 2 months ago. Initially, I began looking for a full suspension and disc brakes, and I wanted to keep the cost under $1,500.00. I went to four LBS, and found what I thought was the "winner": the 26" Giant Yukon FX. The reviews were good and the bike looked pretty solid. Price: $850.00, but with sales tax, etc.

However, I kept looking to see if I could find a better deal. As a true newbie, I had never heard of 29ers prior to visiting on the LBS. There, I learned that many trail riders prefer a hardtail 29er to a full-squish 26". However, none of the LBS had hardtail 29ers with disc brakes that came even close to my price range.

I then began reading online reviews and forums, and started looking more closely at BikesDirect/Motobecane. I should start out by saying that I am not writing as a shill or endorser of this specific product-my goal is to sing the praises of Hardtail 29ers in general. I was able to find a really nice bike in my price range ($995-http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom29pro_SL.htm). Their offering was an aluminum frame (the Hardrock was steel) 29er with Avid Juicy hydraulic disc brakes and a Rockshox Reba fork. The rest of the specs are online. I know that Bikesdirect owns Motobecane, and so their "savings" quotes are somewhat stupid. However, for the price and components, it beat the hell out of anything I could find at my LBS. I'll make it up to my LBS with trueing, tuneups, etc., I guess.