Fairly new to MTB and need some opinions related to 29ers- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Fairly new to MTB and need some opinions related to 29ers

I hope it's okay to post this here. Apologize in advance for the length.

I'm fairly new to mountain biking. I have ridden and raced road bikes for a few years and have done triathlons for a couple (including an Ironman and several half Ironman races). I have a single speed Gary Fisher MTB and an old Trek Single Track 930. I've been using both of these to learn the dirt side of things. Been having a blast but am ready to get a better setup.

A friend is selling a 2010 Gary Fisher X-Caliber 29er. It is barely used. He mostly used it as a first bike to train for triathlons and then got a tri bike, so it's been gathering dust for a couple years. It looks almost new. He's selling for $700. I think it listed for just under $1600 new.

I test rode it and liked it pretty well. It was way better than what I have now. Shifted great. Brakes were good (except they squeaked at times). It was way easier to get over obstacles and roots and rocks than with my Trek. I wasn't overwhelmed with the ride quality, though. I think I may have had the tire pressure too high at 40psi. Part way through the ride I let some air out and it did feel better plus more stable in corners.

My question related to this bike is can I improve the ride by changing to tubeless? I've read/heard I can run quite a bit less air pressure, so I thought that might help make it smoother.

I'm also considering 29er FS new and used. I don't want to spend more than $2k out the door. Nothing much I can find used. A few options new that run very close to $2k. Kona Hei Hei, Specialized Camber, Scott Spark 960, GT Sensor, Jamis XCR Sport. May be a couple others. The best I can tell all these are reasonably close in specs.