Entry-level Tallboy- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Entry-level Tallboy

I have been riding my Scott Scale 940 for 3 years now, and I want to move on to FS. I am focusing on the entry-level Santa Cruz Tallboy (with RockShox Recon & SX drivetrain). I really like how it looks but budget is limiting me to entry level only.
    I know it will be a heavy bike, but is it good for climbing? I have no way of test riding it as I live far from a SC dealer.

I will not be doing jumps, races and other crazy stuffs, but my trail has lots or steep climb.
    Do you think this bike is a good step into FS?
    Please let me know.

CEO Product Failure
    The Tallboy is a fantastic bike. Great design, very well engineered, and the frame is worthwhile to upgrade long term. That being said you have two challenges:

1. Never buy a bike without a test ride. What works for me, may not be to your liking. That being said, I just bought a TB4 and believe its the best bike ever created. My personal belief is the bike you're currently riding should always be the best ever. Find a way to ride the bike before purchasing.

2. Finding stock right now is hit and miss. If you want a medium, tb3 with the entry level spec, I've only seen 1 at a local LBS (in maroon/red). I am told most other SC models are back ordered or have indefinite ship dates.

mtbr member
    I have a TB3. Great trail bike. They made the 2020 TB4 crazy long, low, and slack. Way too LLS for me. The main advantage of LLS is descending. When going slow climbing and in tight tech stuff, it makes the bike wander, it's more difficult to steer, and prone to pedal strikes. I def recommend test riding before you decide. You might like it, but you might not.
    What, me worry?

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Thank you bingemtbr & Lone Rager!
    I appreciate all your input.

mtbr member
    Apr 2014