El Ray to Dos Niner...making me seasick- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2004

El Ray to Dos Niner...making me seasick

I've been riding the El ray for a few months without saddling up the Dos Niner. I rode it yesterday and it's a noodle, sickeningly so. I'm running 36 spoke wheels so I doubt it's much wheel flex. I'm inspecting for cracks but suspect I'd know it if a crack were allowing flex.

Anyone else experience something similar?

mtbr member
    I have a Ventana X5 and my Santa Cruz Superlight feels super flexy after riding the X5, but I have never felt my Sir9 was flexy after riding either the Superlight or X5.
    I only ride bikes to fill the time when I'm not skiing.

Harmonius Wrench
    I don't know which version of the Dos you have, but yes, that frame is noodly. if you have some flexy bars on it, it makes it even worse. Most of it is the front triangle twisting as you pedal. (At least on mine it is.)
    Riden' an Smilin'
    Guitar Ted

Blog
    RidingGravel.com

Slow and steady
    Jan 2004
    Are Salsa's noodly in general? I have a La Cruz, which I like a lot, but when I went for a bike fit on it, the fitter told me it was hard to dial me in since the bottom bracket was swaying 40mm side-to-side when I pedaled "moderately" (+/- 20mm). I'm no lightweight at 230lbs, but I do notice that my El Rey is subjectively much stiffer than the La Cruz even though the El Rey is squishy and the La Cruz is rigid.

mtbr member
    +1 on noodle frame. I used to own an 06' Dos Niner, had to get rid of it because the front triangle and BB was way too flexy. It was difficult negotiating technical rocky terrain on that bike. Now I have a Salsa El Santo... same issue but not as pronounced as the Dos.

Overall I think all Scandium frames tends to be pretty flexy due to the thin tubing and the nature of the material.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony