Drop bar 29er: Did I pick the right parts...?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2008

Drop bar 29er: Did I pick the right parts...?

I'm going to try drop bars on my 29er. I've never used drops before so could someone please comment on the components I'm going to order before I push the button:

Bars: Ragley Luxy (http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...?ModelID=54259)
    I'm currently using a 685 mm low rize carbon bar and thinking that the Luxy will be nice 'cause they're pretty wide (420 mm top, 650 mm "bottom").

Stem: On-One 3D Forged stem (http://www.on-one.co.uk/i/q/STOO3DF/...3d-forged-stem)
    Cheap and light and the 80 mm, 25 deg rize looks like it will put the bars in a nice position

Brake levers: Tektro RL520 (http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...?ModelID=34840)
    Cheap...are there any other levers that I should consider?

Brakes: Avid BB7 road (http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...?ModelID=59434)
    Seems to be the best option...?

Shifting?
    The bike will be set up SS but I have an X.O short cage rear mech that I might put on. What shifter do you recommend...?

Thanks for any input...

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Just so you know what I'm talking about...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Drop bar 29er: Did I pick the right parts...?-img_5263_resize.jpg  

mtbr member
    You've chosen Linear pull levers (long pull)
    and
    Road BB7s (short pull)

so these aren't entirely compatible.

If you are commited to SS, I'd go with the Treko levers and Mtb BB7s.

If you are not sure and might go geared, I'd go with Road BB7s and short pull levers and then you can use sti's at some point.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by John Jencks
    If you are not sure and might go geared, I'd go with Road BB7s and short pull levers and then you can use sti's at some point.
    Thanks, good info. There's no mention of long pull vs. short pull on the sram page...can you recommend some good short pull levers?