Does it exist?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Does it exist?

Master of Beat

Does it exist?

Ive been out of bike tech loop for a few years and I was wondering if such a bike exists...

I'm riding a 2007 fisher paragon with a few upgrades and it's fast and won me some races. I recently started riding again and was out with a friend and hit a drop I shouldn't have with it. On impact my fork bottomed out and my tire blew off the rim and obviously I didn't land it. Ive got a bike with 170mm travel but I refuse to climb another hill with it.

Is there something out there that is light and will climb and roll as well or better than my 29 hardtail in a fs than can take some hits?

Am I asking for cake and to eat it too?

Super Moderator SuperModerator
    Niner RIP 9 ?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by attomixt
    Is there something out there that is light and will climb and roll as well or better than my 29 hardtail in a fs than can take some hits?
    Yes.

Quote Originally Posted by attomixt
    Am I asking for cake and to eat it too?
    Yes, but you still can't.

Check out the Specialized FSR 29er and Epic 29er, the Santa Cruz Tallboy, the Niner RIP9 and JET9, the Titus Rockstar, the Pivot 429...

Yup, lots of choices to fit you riding style and budget.

Cheers!

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Stumpjumper FSR 29'er or Epic 29'er, in the Expert trim it is pretty nicely equipped with only the wheels lacking a bit. They are heavy and not overly strong, I'd prefer one or the other....

The Brain shock on the Epic and Stumpjumper makes a huge difference in pedaling without being wicked expensive, they pedal like a hardtail and ride like a FS bike. I wouldn't have believed it either, until I rode one. You can buy a bike that doesn't use a band-aid like the Brain or (less effective) Pro-Pedal, but the frame is going to cost as much as the Spec bike complete.

Master of Beat
    Does anyone know the approx weight of an FSR Stump Jumper expert 29er

Plays with tools