Did I screw up? Went from a large to medium frame?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2019

Did I screw up? Went from a large to medium frame?

Bought a 2018 Large Frame Cannondale Trail 7 a few weeks ago on clearance, picked the large as it was the only size available. Bike ended up having issues and as a nice gesture the shop upgraded me to a 2019 Trail 5 and let me choose what size. Due to almost non existent standover height on the large I went with a medium. Picked up the bike today and now I'm not sure if I screwed up. I did go from about half an inch of clearance to about 1.5. I'm 5'11 with a 32 inch inseam using the hard book method. However the more I'm reading the more I'm worried I should have ordered another large as everything seems to point to a 19 inch frame (large is 18.9 medium is 17.3) for my height and inseam. I'm a complete newb so not even sure what proper position should be but felt comfortable riding the large one when we went riding for about 15 miles a couple weeks ago. I bet vast majority of my riding will be paved trails with my girlfriend but would like to try some novice trails with her one day (she has a Cannondale Forray 2). Trying to figure out if I should contact the shop and say I think I made a mistake...
    https://www.cannondale.com/~/media/I...EOS_TRAIL.ashx

mtbr member
    Apr 2019
    I feel the same Polish. I bought a Hardtail large frame Giant Fathom 1 29er 2019. Such a great bike! Love it! I'm only 5'9/10 too! However, I got the bug to pick up a full suspension. So I got a great deal on a 2018 Jekyll 3 Carbon medium frame, 27.5 Wheels. I felt the bike was so much smaller. Definitely a much more wild stallion bike - it feels like it wants to ride itself. Goes where it wants to go. But I'm having second thoughts. =( I'm thinking it has more to do with the smaller wheels than the smaller frame.

Thinking of taking a loss on the Jekyll and picking up a 29er - maybe a Giant Advanced Trance 29er.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012