Best bang for buck bike under $1500- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2010

Best bang for buck bike under $1500

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to mountain biking looking for a decent 29'er to tackle the trails with. I'm looking for a hardtail under $1500 (or a FS if one can be found under $1500) with well enough specs that i won't get the instant itch to upgrade everything off the bat. So far i've seen nice looking offerings like the Sette Razzo and the 2009 Motobecane Fantom 29PRO SL that fits the bill nicely. Are there any other bang-for-buck bikes out there that you guys feel I should be looking at?

Bedwards Of The West
    Performance Access. I'm building one from the frame up, but they have the complete bike in a couple different price/component ranges.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

poser Administrator
    Salsa el mariachi complete

1x9 etc. MSRP around 1500 semoleans.
    MTBR Posting Guidelines
    calories>electrons

Apr 2007
    When I was casually browsing last year, I was really impressed with the Gary Fisher Paragon. Great value for the money. I found an 08 (previous model year, but new) for $1,499. The X-Cal is good, too.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    You probably could do FS for under $1500 if you bought Voodoo Canzo 29er and took the parts from a BikesDirect 29er. Otherwise, it's a hardtail at that price.

Noli Me Tangere
    Jul 2008
    With carefully selected parts (mix of new and used if you dont mind it) you could put together a Niner EMD or Vassago Bandersnatch with decent/mid-level parts.

If single speed is something you'd want to try, that could be done under $1000
    Annie are you ok? Are you ok, Annie?

err, 27.5+
    Quote Originally Posted by fangtastic
    Motobecane Fantom 29PRO SL
    That pretty much nails it