Anyone with a bad lower back ride a 29er hardtail?- Mtbr.com
    DTL
    mtbr member
    Jan 2009

Anyone with a bad lower back ride a 29er hardtail?

Anyone with lower back problems or who have had lower back surgery riding a 29er aluminum hardtail? If so, good or bad experience? Im thinking of adding a 29 hardtail to my stable but dont want it to cause lower back problems. I had outpatient lower back surgery years ago but haven't had any problems since. Thanks

4 Niners
    Dec 2008
    There is no way to tell. Every back injury and surgery is totally different. Anyone who tells you different is ill-informed
    Full rigid SS, Hardtail SS, Hardtail Geared, Full Suspension Geared.

mtbr member
    I am a noob, but I have nerve problems down one leg from a prev. lower back injury and ride a 29er hardtail. I just have to get my @ss off the seat more to ensure my legs take the brunt of the shock instead of my lower back and take it easy when warranted. I agree with the post above, too. Couldn't hurt to follow-up with the MD that worked on you, too. I work in the medical field and it sucks when someone has to go back into the OR a 2nd time because the first stabilization (or lami/diskectomy,etc.) failed later on. Best of luck!
    2013 Marin Bobcat Trail 29er

It's not enough to bash in heads
    , you've got to bash in minds. - Captain Hammer

tg
    mtbr member
    Dont do it! you are messing with fire.....stick with the cush and have fun.

Broken Hipster
    I broke my L4 and L5 4 years ago in a wreck and they're fused now.(also knee, 8 rib fractures, ankle, concussion, scapula, etc. It was a good one...)
    I had to take the season off from riding but picked it up again the following spring on my 26" hard tail. It was touch and go until I got back in shape and most of the issue I had was the knee injury. My back never "really" gave me much trouble as far as riding anyway.