Advice for a quasi-noob- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2010

Advice for a quasi-noob

Hi All

Way back when I had a 26" hardtail that I mostly road around college campuses goofing off on stairs, etc with occasional mt biking. I also worked in a ski/bike shop at the time, so i have some decent cursory knowledge of componentry, but bear in mind I worked on the ski side of the shop. Now that I am done with grad school I have some time and funds to get back into mt biking. I will be living in State College, PA riding the bike to work and on the many trails in the afternoons and weekends when the wife allows. Talked with guys at Freeze thaw cycles in SC and they recoomended a 29er for my dual purposes and specifically the Redline D660. Looks like an awesome ride with all the components I was looking for, but am a bit worried about the single crank ring for hills, given my current state of fitness. Will changing to a 11-34 rear cog help in this department, or should I move to a crank with two rings? I really like the idea of a single chain ring for shifting simplicity.

Whew, sorry for the long winded post. I am looking for any opinions on the redline as well as any other frames, build ups with a budget around $1500, could go a bit more.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    You could also get a lower geared Shimano HG61 29" specific 12/36T cassette. They are relatively cheap too. Probably about $40. Cost me $33 for Chain reaction Cycles in Ireland.

Ronnie.
    The trouble with having an open mind is that people will insist on trying to put things in it.

mtbr member
    In my opinion, and considering your price range, this is a great buy. Check it out. http://www.performancebike.com/bikes..._20000_1502002
    I own one and love it. Very respectable frame and componenets (SRAM x.9, Avid Juicy 7 brakes, Reba SL fork) for the price.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009