32h or 36h for a Single Speed 29er?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2008

32h or 36h for a Single Speed 29er?

I am new to 29" single speed biking, but long time BMXer. I am currently building up 29" wheels for a single speed project that will see some light trail, and occasionally romp on the BMX track. My question is what rims/hubs hole # do I go with- 32h or 36h?

Since they are both the same prices, which would be my best bet? I know the 32h would be less rolling weight, but does this may that much of a difference?

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    Wow, that is a lot of reading.

It seems like the jury is split evenly. However, in looking for low to mid level 29" riding rims (read inexpensive vs. the serious off roaders), it seems like 32h is the norm.

mtbr member
    If you are after every gram wheelset maybe 32 but 4 spokes are worth another 25 grams and aproximately 12% more stiffness per wheel especially on 29ers.

Birthday Collector
    32h is the accepted "norm" for most wheels these days. On the larger radius 29'er wheel, the extra small bit of weight will give the wheel more lateral rigidity, more strength, it will tend to stay truer if it is well built and if one spoke breaks the wheel will be less affected to ride home on. If you are building the wheels to see some air time and have the option, unless you are building race wheels - go 36h - my opinion after 30+ years building wheels and working on bikes. The only disadvantage to more spokes is a bit of weight, and at high speed some air drag - MTB's don't usually go fast enough to make that an issue.
    R.I.P. Corky 10/97-4/09
    Disclaimer: I sell and repair bikes for a living

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    For me the issue is wheel dish. If the rear wheel is based on a 9-speed freehub, it would make sense to use 36 and maybe even use different spokes on drive vs. nondrive side.

If not, 32 is plenny.

Chronic 1st-timer
    Being a big fat hog myself, 36h is the minimum number I go, non-dished.