2x10 Chainring Question- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

2x10 Chainring Question

Wanting to buy a bike with a 2x10 and wondering what chainring to consider?

I switched to a compact crank 5 years ago, so I am looking at keeping a similar cadence with a smaller chainring group. I'm not wanting to push a 42 or 44, so I am considering either a 39/26 or 38/24 and running an 11-36 the back.

Question: With the 36 back, is a 24 overkill or could I get by with a 26 on short steep terrain?

"Age is making sure you can keep steady strokes!"

Trail Junkie
    I didn't know there was a 38/24.

For my 26" I run 42/28 which works fine.
    I have tried the 42/28 on a 29er and it isn't bad, but I definitely drop to the 28T much more often than I did on my 26".

I believe the 39/26 is ideal for everything. I don't have my 39T yet, I have a XX 39T to run 39/28, but the ring is on backorder, so I have no experience with it. I do feel that the 39T would defintely work better over the 42 based on my experience w/ the 42T...for me atleast for the 29er application. Definitely go with the 36T outback, it is definitely most appropriate for 2x10 regardless of your chainring combo.

I also mainly deal with short steep climbs and do find the 28T ring to be perfect w/ the 36T outback but since it isn't a native ring combo w/ a 39T..I have to buy the rings seperately to get the ring combos I want

The good thing about this is that if you buy the 39/26, and want a 28T little ring, it is MUCH cheaper to replace and more available than the 39 if you bought a 42/28!

Keep an eye out with Blackspire, they are suppose to be releasing 10 speed rings to work appropriately with the 104/64 BCD which opens up crank options considerably, so that is something to consider before making any purchase.
    Ibis Ripley LS
    Santa Cruz Chameleon SS
    Cervelo S2
    Trek Boone 5 Disc (Gravel)
    GT Piece Tour (Gravel)

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by seattle43