29er SS to IXIII Conversion! Great Idea! Bad Idea!- Mtbr.com
    Virtus pre nummis

29er SS to IXIII Conversion! Great Idea! Bad Idea!

My goal was to expand the fun and excitement I was having just being back on a bicycle again after almost 50 years. I bought a Monocog 29er last May for the sole purpose to get back into good physical condition. At my age it seemed like the easiest way of getting more aerobically back into shape but also provided the fastest weight lose!

I began at 280 lbs in poor health and not having been on any kind of bicycle since 1963! Back then I rode 26" Cruiser to carry newspapers in my neighborhood. Big heavy balloon tires, single speed with coaster brakes! You pushed you, the bike and a load of newspapers that would break my back even today!

I started riding one mile a day for the first week, then 2 miles a day for the second week, then 3 miles, etc. Now I ride 10 miles a day, weather permitting, and can't wait to get started the next day! By Christmas I had lost 60 lbs. and am now in the best physical condition I have been in for the last 20 years!

When I bought the Monocog I did so because that was what my last bike was a single speed! Before buying the Monocog I had bought several bikes off Craigslist to try and fine the right bike for my purpose. At 280 lbs. you need to be concerned if the bike can take you weight or can you handle the bicycle properly after all these years?

I started off with a small Raleigh, 21Speed, medium frame, small tires, poor bicycle! I couldn't figure out how to change gears, chain ring's, cogs, ratio's, mm's, bb's, fs, ss! All Greek to me!

Now here I am just barely 9 months back in the saddle after almost fifty years and I want to expand my horizons! Change my trusty steed into a "Three Speed" I said. Maybe a little lower gear to get up the inclines a little easier or a slightly higher gear to get you down the road a little faster.