29er Rim recommendation please- Mtbr.com
    Singlespeed Enduro Poser
    Dec 2009

29er Rim recommendation please

I am new to the world of 29er and i received wonderful recommendation on 29er tires.

Now i need a recommendation on a DT swiss (tubeless ready)29er disc rim. It'll be a cross country/all mountain wheel.

Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott forty G.
    Now i need a recommendation on a DT swiss (tubeless ready)29er disc rim.
    Guess that narrows it down a bit
    Belgian beer and Scotch whisky.

mtbr member
    Sorry can't help you Now if you'd just said rim I'd have said STANS, pick whichever suits your style and terrain. I like the Flow for it's minimal weight gain and wider footprint it's width gives tyres.
    Quote Originally Posted by Harold
    You're doing mtbr wrong, you're supposed to get increasingly offended by the implications that you're doing ANYTHING wrong.

AZ
    banned
    Since it has to be DT , I cant recomend the offerings fron Bontrager , who by the way has some very good tubless ready rims .

Singlespeed Enduro Poser
    Dec 2009
    So, DT swiss aren't good 29er rims?

mtbr member
    Why must it be a DT rim?
    Professional Amateur

bike tester
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott forty G.
    So, DT swiss aren't good 29er rims?
    the 470 has mixed reviews, the tk 7.1 seems a bit better... also mavic tn719 is good.

stans are very popular because they are easier to setup tubeless, most of the times they only need yellow tape, not the rim strips.

if you don't care about tubeless i don't see any problems with the DT tk 7.1 for xc/am stuff.

Former Bike Wrench
    If it has to be DT, then the TK 7.1 or X470 are your only choices...Stans Plus Four rim strips work with them.

Singlespeed Enduro Poser
    Dec 2009
    I was under the impression that DT swiss is the BEST. Therefore, i wanted to use that. But it seems that Stans are fairly popular(perfromance related?)