29er REQUIRED to be clipless?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

29er REQUIRED to be clipless?

i'm interested in a 2008 Stumpjumper comp 29er. i test rode it today with regular sneakers and it had clipless pedals in. I know you're supposed to use the accompanying shoes w/ those pedals but i'm wondering, is it possible to ride w/ regular platform pedals + regular sneakers?

when i was riding, my sneaker toe kept touching the front wheel whenever i turned, i dont really see a way around this, but i'm a noob. maybe someone here can help
    RH SL Pro

mtbr member
    Sneakers will cause you to crash and skin both knees.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    The cause of the toe overlap may be because you did not have the correct placement of your foot on the pedal. You can put platforms on and ride it as is, but clipless is better.

I miss f88
    there are plenty of people who prefer to use pedals with (like welgos and others) with 5/10 or skate shoes. I personally, however, prefer clipless.
    WHEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!
    ------__o
    ----_`\<,_
    ---(_)/ (_)

Dinner for wolves
    I ride with flats and Powergrips on my SS Karate Monkey. The fastest descender in my group uses big flats wihtout any retention device. It is what he is used to as a former downhiller and urban rider. I like my set up plenty...it was much cheaper than clipless and allows me to take more chances. Clipless pedals are not obligatory. I have known many riders who rip it up with flats and sneakers. Just make sure to buy some shin guards. As for the toe overlap, pedal choice may not fix that. 650b?
    Responds to gravity

~Disc~Golf~
    "is it possible to ride w/ regular platform pedals + regular sneakers?"
    No,
    29'rs have to be ridden in high-heels
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by highdelll
    No,
    just make sure they are 29er specific high heels

Abby Normal
    Quote Originally Posted by buddhak
    I ride with flats and Powergrips on my SS Karate Monkey