29er Head angles....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

29er Head angles....

Hi guys, I am new to the concept of 29ers, coming as I do from a 26 inch freeride background. I am interested in getting a 29er though, so that I can explore the ups as well as the downs, plus I like the fact that they are a bit "different".

I have looked at the specs and Geo of a lot of hardtail examples and I have one question about the headtube angles. I have noticed that most 29ers have head angles between 70 and 72 degrees, and yet a lot of them are still rated by the press as being great all around trail bikes. In my experience 26er trail bikes are a bit slacker than this to help with downhill stability.

I am not sure If I am just getting the intended use of 29ers mixed up a bit, i.e. they have steeper angles because they are more XC orientated than flat out Trail orientated, or if the larger diameter wheels effect the stability of the bikes to the point where they can/have to run steeper headtube angles to achieve the same general rideability as a 26er.

I hope that all makes sense, in a nut shell, I guess I would ask, if I was looking for a good 29er trail bike/all rounder (not freeride!!) should I be looking for similar angles to the equivalent 26er, or would I be looking for different angles because of the 29er wheels!

Thanks for the help guys, I apologies if I have missed the point somehow or if this comes across as ignorant, but I am a 29er newb!!

Happy holidays to all! Hope you are all having great Christmases!

Ben
    Canada Here I Come.....

mtbr member