29er Decision...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Cool-blue Rhythm 29er Decision...

Hey guys.
    I've been racing Mountain Bikes for a little while now, but have never touched a 29er. I've decided to renew my mountain bike and upgrade to a 29er full carbon hard-tail... but I need your help.
    You are likely sick to death of comparison questions, but I only have this one shot to make the right decision on a pretty big purchase/expense. The two that I'm torn between are:

2011 Cannondale Flash Carbon 3
    (http://www.cannondale.com/usa/usaeng...-CARBON-29ER-3)

or the 2011 Scott Scale Pro 29er.
    (http://www.scott-sports.com/us_en/pr...0/55509/217950)

I'm a big pro on the Cannondale having 2x10 over the 3x10 on the Scott, but I like the look of the Scott a lot better than the Cannondale.
    Any input would be greatly appreciated!!

DroppinScience

get down!
    Cannondale for sure
    Rudy Projects look ridiculous

visit my blog, BEATS, BIKES & LIFE

Your Best Friend
    I have ridden the 2010 Cannondale Flash 1 extensively and I just bought the 2011 Scott Scale RC.

The frames will both absorb trail chatter essentially the same. They were designed by the same guy IIRC. The Flash is super smooth on the trail and is very quick. Because I haven't ridden my Scale outside, I can only assume that it will steer a bit slower, which is my hope. The HA is slacker and should help with stability on longer races. I like that the Scott places the rear brake inside the stays. This takes braking forces off the seat stay, keeping it free to damp trail chatter a bit better. You are right, the Scott's are beautiful.

You need to decide on super quick handling or stable handling. Neither of the bikes will ride very different in other areas. Don't think that either bike isn't quick or stable just because of the different HA's. They are just slightly more suited to one than the other.

After that it comes down to the component choices, obviously.