2019 Trek Stache 5 vs 2020 Specialized Fuse Comp- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2019

2019 Trek Stache 5 vs 2020 Specialized Fuse Comp

First post. I am looking for a new bike and have narrowed it down to these 2. The Stache is on sale for $1500 and the Fuse sells for $1670. I like them both, but I thought I would take a vote and ask opinions of them. I am not an expert in components by any means so I would appreciate any input.

https://www.specialized.com/us/en/fu...=263340-171069

https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/b...stache/c/B335/

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005
    I'd say the Specialized has slightly better parts, but the real question is do you want a "normal" 29er hardtail or do you want a 29+ hardtail? They're quite different in that regard.

I don't have any real input as I'm not generally a hardtail rider, but I've owned a couple of those Staches and they're the most fun and useful hardtail I've personally ridden.
    Just like a raindrop, I was born to fall.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Blatant View Post
    I'd say the Specialized has slightly better parts, but the real question is do you want a "normal" 29er hardtail or do you want a 29+ hardtail? They're quite different in that regard.

I don't have any real input as I'm not generally a hardtail rider, but I've owned a couple of those Staches and they're the most fun and useful hardtail I've personally ridden.
    Agreed.
    If your trails have lots of roots or rocks/features you need to tackle then the plus bike makes more sense but if your trails are fairly smooth a normal HT probably makes more sense with lower weight to tote around.
    Back or neck issues? Plus bike may help.

Definitely best to test ride both, though. Good luck.
    Niner Jet 9 RDO, Scalpel 29, XTC 650b, 04 Stumpjumper FSR Pro, Trek Rigid SS - No suspension, no gears....no problem

mtbr member
    I just sold my stache 5, after a few years.