2016 Stumpjumper FSR Comp vs. 2014 Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2015

2016 Stumpjumper FSR Comp vs. 2014 Stumpjumper FSR Comp Carbon?

Hi-

I've been hardtailing for a while, but I'm new to the whole 29er/FSR world. Never had a carbon bike. Moderately aggressive rider, New England, usually shorter rides, lots of roots/rocks but I like fast hardpack, too. Haven't done much jumping. 5'11/160.

Local shop is offering 2016 Stumpjumper FSR Comp for $2750 on sale and the 2014 SJ Carbon for $2899. The bikes both feel pretty similar to me. $150 significant, but not that big a deal to me,

Any guidance, especially from anyone who's ridden both would be much appreciated. Thanks!

-Brian

Crash Dummy In Training
    From the specs I found online the are pretty close component wise.
    If it was me and the 2014 is brand new left over stock with full warranty I would grab the 2014 Carbon.
    ​​
    2015 Flyxii / ENVE /Chris King Carbon 29'er H.T.
    SRAM XX1
    2012 Stump Jumper Comp 29'er H.T. SRAM XX1
    1997 Rock Hopper / Rock Shox Recon Silver / 1 x 10 SRAM X9 XO Mix XT V Brake system

Rent this space for $
    Without a doubt, the 2014. I just came off an aluminum FSR Comp that I built a year ago and absolutely loved and expected to be on it for years to come....then a brand new 2014 Carbon Evo frame with warranty fell into my lap quite unexpectedly for uber cheap and I had to do it. Built it up from scratch with nothing but top of the line new components just like I had with the previous Comp. The Carbon frame is hugely significant in feel and performance. HUGE. I don't know that I could go back to AL. Certainly not in the same model.

mtbr member
    Apr 2015
    For me, anyway, the 2014 geometry is very close to being spot-on.

The 2016 geometry has changed quite a bit: shorter top tube, less standover.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012