2015 Marlin 5 upgrades? FNG asking.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2019

2015 Marlin 5 upgrades? FNG asking.

Picking up a Trek Marlin 5 tomorrow. Pretty excited about getting into the sport. It's intended use will be to gain confidence and skill, enjoy the local single-track systems, and gain knowledge of bike mechanics. Getting in better shape is also something I'm looking forward to.

I also will use it for trail patrol and response purposes, as I work as a Park Ranger and my district has recently started a bike patrol program.

As someone who likes to tinker, upgrade, and customize, what suggestions do yall have given the bikes intended purposes?

Perhaps the answer to this question could be found deep within the forums, but when I came across similar threads, I was overwhelmed with folks saying "just buy a newer, better bike instead of upgrading." While I won't write off the option, that's a long way down the road. I also think upgrading and customizing is fun and I am genuinely looking forward to sinking teeth into my new bike in the same way I've done with my other hobbies of firearms, off-roading, and prepping. (down for a good chat about those too)

Any advice and helpful comments are welcome. Looking forward to having a fun conversation about my new bike and the sport in general.

Lastly, anyone in the El Dorado County area who rides Sly Park/Flemming Meadows, I'd like to pick your brain about the trail system and your thoughts about patrolling the lake loop.

Thanks all.

WillWorkForTrail
    Iím going to speak in generalities for the sake of being specific about one thing: You should really decide what you want to upgrade as you ride the bike and decide this or that could be better.

For instance, I have no idea what components are coming on this bike. But I bet the fork could be better. Especially if itís a coil fork and youíre not within the recommend weight range for the spring in the fork. Maybe then your first thing is upgrade the fork.