2014 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29 or 2014 Specialized Camber Comp Carbon 29- Mtbr.com
    Dusting Trails

2014 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29 or 2014 Specialized Camber Comp Carbon 29

Hello,

I'm trying to determine which of these would be better for riding on fire roads. I live at the foot of Mt Tamalpais and ride two miles from my garage to the starting point.

I'm 6' - 210 lbs and would be riding mainly for exercise. I just retired and last summer I started riding three or four days a week with family and friends when the weather is nice, so it's more of a leisurely type ride - but with some very steep and loose rocky climbs.

I was initially leaning towards the 2014 Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29 - but the bike shop is saying the 2014 Camber Comp Carbon might be the better choice for my riding - I want a more capable uphill bike than a downhill bike.

Which of these bikes would be your choice for my riding and why?

My old bike is a 1996 Specialized M2 FS Comp that has been passed on to my 12 year old son - he doesn't want a new bike - he loves the old Stumpy.

Thanks for any replies.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Camber.

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/ozgr0f8vs4I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Your listed terrain would allow a Ti or carbon hard tail with good compliance.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Camber. IIRC, on Tam, you pretty much just get to ride fire roads. I sometimes ride China Camp on visits to the area; there, I've been riding my friend's old FSR XC, with 100 or 120 mm of travel. I don't feel under biked on that at all. And in general, less is more when it comes to suspension travel and climbing. You might look at the Epic too - I think if carbon is in your price range, the Epic is too.