09 GT Peace 29er Multi Headset recommendation- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

09 GT Peace 29er Multi Headset recommendation

I noticed some play in my headset, so I loosen the bult and try to tighten the steam and realized that my headset is shot. Feels bit of play when braking. I need new headset now. I knew that a lot of complained about the stock headset. This is my first time shopping for headset and need size info and recommendation.
    I currently have Rockshox reba sl 11/8' install and not sure what size headset to get. I know that inner need to be 11/8, however, is there different size for outer? Or 11/8 has default size of outer. Also, not sure if I need THREADLESS HEADSET or thread headset. Please, help. I am looking into $30 to $40 headset.

GT website shows this info on headset - TH, standard press-in 1-1/8" alloy cups, cage bearings. TH? Is that threadless?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by calisun; 08-14-2010 at 05:32 PM.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    First are you adjusting it correctly? Loosen stem bolts, tighten top cap bolt until no play or binding is felt, then tighten stem.

The Cane Creek S-3 is one of my favorite "budget" headsets. I've bought them for $25 shipped from ebay. Most shops charge $15 to install...so $40 total is a good deal.

You need a 1 1/8" threadless headset.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Yes, I opened it up noticed few balls are missing too. I did have s3 headset on my old bike and I really like them. Thank you!

FSA Orbit Xtreme MTB Bike Threadless 1 1/8" Headset - How is this headset?
    Last edited by calisun; 08-14-2010 at 05:52 PM.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    I'd just go with the standard Cane Creek S-3 1 1/8" threadless, as was mentioned above. I junked the OEM headset as soon as I got my Peace 9r.
    Enjoy the ride!

mtbr member
    Sep 2007