Will Riser Bars help with Fit and Feel?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Will Riser Bars help with Fit and Feel?

Hello!

I am looking to purchase a used 2015 Trek Slash 8 with a 17.5 frame (18.0 actual). Im 61 and just test rode the bike.

It feels small. It particularly feels that way due to the rise and reach of the stock bars (or so I think). Its currently equipped with 750mm bars with a 15mm rise. Im curious if replacing these bars with 780mm-800mm riser bars (50mm rise?) will help with the small feeling.

Im not new to mountain biking but I am new to geometry of bikes and this will be the first medium frame Ive ridden. Will replacing the bars make this bike a better fit for me? Or should I spend my time looking for a bike with a large frame?

Thanks for the help!

Bikesexual
    Frame is too small for you. I'm 5'11.5" and ride a Large.
    Surly Krampus
    All City MMD
    Kona Unit
    Surly Cross-Check

mtbr member
    Aug 2018
    Short answer, you're too tall for a medium sized frame. So even if its a good deal, I'd pass on it.

What you're feeling is both too little stack (vertical distance from bottom bracket to top of headset), and too little reach (horizontal distance from the bottom bracket, to the top of the headset).

Riser bars can help somewhat (they add stack height), but that won't help with the lack of reach. A new longer stem can help with that, but only to a certain point. Too long of a stem makes you lean too far over the front of the bike (less stable), which is why larger bike frames exist .

I'm 6'1", and I'm usually right between Large, and Extra Large, depending on the brand/bike/etc. I'm currently on a Large Kona Process 153, and sometimes feel I should have gone for an XL.

So, to make mine fit better, I've added a 38mm riser bar (helped with stack height problem for me), and am considering throwing on a slightly longer stem (maybe a 40, or 50mm stem).