Santa Cruz 5010 or Canyon Spectral AL 6.0?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2019

Santa Cruz 5010 or Canyon Spectral AL 6.0?

I get the argument for the LBS...and that definitely holds value for me, as this will be my first real mountain bike. I'm definitely on the beginner side, but been riding bikes my whole life - but since moved to Colorado, I can justify a real mountain bike. I rode the 5010, really liked it a lot. I still want to demo a Hightower...but thats another 29" topic. I originally started with a $2500 budget...and that keeps creeping up.

I also started researching the Canyon Spectral 6.0...for $2900, I get a bike spec'd closer to a $4000+ 5010. But I can't demo it, and I'm not sure about the whole service aspect. On the 5010 I was looking at an R or S build. As a beginner, I'm sure the components may not be as meaningful to me in the beginning...but I want to grow into whatever bike I get, without wasting money on things that are overkill even long term for my skillset. So I'm weighing a WAY better spec'd bike (Canyon) for much less money...vs a great bike (5010) and maybe more in line with what I need if I got closer to a D or R build, and get the LBS experience and care. Thoughts?

mtbr member
    I always vote for the bike you like to ride the best. what fits best. then worry about spec and cost, but there is no denying you can get more for your money by going direct. will it be an extra hassle if you have a warranty issue? hard to say, but most local shops will still gladly wrench on it, or depending on where you live, you may have mobile techs. or you can start buying tools with the money you save, and learn to do most things yourself on youtube.

I just recently got the S+, and I'm digging it. Fits my riding style and needs perfectly. No doubt you pay extra just for the SC name on it, but they also have a great rep for taking care of their customers, as does the shop I bought it from.

mtbr member
    Aug 2018