Roscoe 6 vs DRT 1.3- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2019

Roscoe 6 vs DRT 1.3

Newbie here, shopping for first bike... I was seriously considering picking up the Roscoe 6, which is on sale for $850. I like the idea of the plus size tires and the 1X drivtrain.

Then I noticed REI has the DRT 1.3 on sale for $860. It doesn't have the plus size tires or the 1X, but it does have an air fork, which seems to be a great improvement vs the coil from everything I've read. With a 2X and a remote lockout for the fork, would the handlebars be too crowded for a dropper lever?

Between the two, which would you recommend, and why? Thanks. I plan to ride local trails with no huge climbs or descents and nothing too technical. I'm sure I could get better bikes or components for more $ but this is the top of my price range at this time.

mtbr member
    You could always convert to 1x by going to a single narrow wide chaining in the front which can be had for $30 and up. Then just pull the front shifter and derailleur off. As for tire size that is going to be a personal preference. Each has its own merits. Air fork will definitely be better than a coil fork.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Aug 2019
    I went to see check them out this weekend but it was pouring rain so I didnít get to ride either. Trek store only had the Roscoe 7 in stock, which I really liked but itís more than I want to spend. Just sitting on them, the Roscoe felt like a better fit. Hope to get back this weekend for parking lot rides or possibly demo the Roscoe.

mtbr member
    Jun 2019
    I did not ride the DRT1.3 or the Roscoe, but I did test ride the DRT1.2 vs the Marlin 7 as well as some others (Giant, Cannondale, Specialized). I thought the DRT1.2 was much more comfortable than the others but was close to the Marlin 7. I did buy the DRT1.2 instead of the Marlin 7, it was just more comfortable to ride. Have put a couple hundred miles on it since July, it was been working very well.