mtbr member
    Nov 2018

Nishiki Colorado Comp 1x Thread

Howdy!

New here, wasn't able to find a thread anywhere for this, so I'll make one here for my experience with mine, and for others to share as well.

For basic information, this is a bigbox-store bike from Dicks Sporting Goods that's been on sale recently for as low as about $350, So I figured why not make this my first mountain bike!

So, I've had mine for 5 days, only had a chance for roughly 30 miles on the trails, but have enjoyed it so far!
    Whoever Dick's is paying to setup bikes shouldn't be setting up bikes however. The derailleur hanger was badly bent when I got the bike, among other horrible settup issues, leaving to me to get a 20% discount on the bike and fix it myself. I'm a novice mechanic at a local volunteering bike house, and never turn down a repair (especially on something I'm buying if I can get a discount too!).

The NX groupset shifts wonderfully, save for the NX shifter though I've heard most NX shifters aro questionable, and the all metal internals GX shifters are direct replacement. That'll be the next thing I replace.

The derailleur hanger doesn't seem to be available from either Dick's or Nishiki, though I've found a site here (link) that has the exact replacement available for a little over $20.

As I work on it and ride, I'll update here. For now, time to clean the mud off!

(Posting mobile, will upload photos tonight)

Nishiki Colorado Comp 1x Thread-3pdftq3.jpg
    Nishiki Colorado Comp 1x Thread-hqbm7fq.jpg

Issues found so far:

• Weak fork, will need to be replaced. The headset is oversized w/ 40mm I.D. bearings, should accept tapered forks with adapters, leaving options unlimited.
    • Cheaply made derailleur hanger, will need to be replaced with a CNC cut replacement from here (link)
    • Stock seat post is made from steel, and will bend when stressed. $20 replacement for a proper aluminum seatpost (or better yet, check your local bike co-op!)
    • TBD