mtbr member
    Mar 2014

New rider and bike owner- please help with tire question

Hello all,

I'm new to mountain biking and new to this forum. I started riding in July 2013 and bought a 2013 KHS hardtail 650b in November 2013 because the shop offered me a great deal and I had been out on the rental a few times. It's a solid bike and I'll grow into it, but I am not comfortable on the Maxxis Crossmarks it came with. They do not perform well for me in wet, muddy conditions, or is it that I just don't perform well in wet, muddy conditions yet? I also struggle with them on stones going uphill and on branches going downhill. My question is, how do you know a tire isn't working for you? Should I keep up with these Crossmarks, or should I buy nobbier tires? I'm currently looking at the Specialized Ground Controls that have come out for 650b's. Not that I'm a Specialized lover or hater, but the tire seems to be what I'm looking for and at the right price. I'm also looking at the Kenda Tomac Nevegal for $10 more each. I'd pickup the Nobby Nic's if I was rich. Using a speedy tire isn't a top priority right now. I'm mainly riding in the Midwest. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you!

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    I'm not a Specialized fan at all, but do love their tires and Dropper. The only way you'll know is to try it.
    Tallboy 3.1
    OG Ripley v2

mtbr member
    May 2013

New rider and bike owner- please help with tire question

Nevegals are good for muddy conditions as they dig in well and find grip. You can go for those. As for specialized I have no tried it.happy experimenting.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

WillWorkForTrail