mtbr member
    Feb 2018

New to mtb, need some input

Hello to all, im new to riding mountain bikes. I know theres tons of info on this topic but i need some input on my specific situation and what i should do. Any info is well appreciated.

I stopped by local bike shop earlier today to order a new bike, guess you can say i got the bike bug, ive been riding an old 2006(i think) specialized stumpjumper that my dad handed me down, cant tell what trim since nothing seems to be stock on it anymore. Anyways., i ordered a 2018 giant trance 2 (seems to be the best bang for my budget) medium size. Im right around 5'6, now the giant website puts me on a small frame, but when i test rode a small one it felt tiny, like the handle bars were too close to my body, recently i found out the stumpjumper ive been riding its a large frame so that could be the reason why the small giant feels so small. Also test rode a medium one but the 2017 model which has a longer stem. It felt better as in it felt closer to my stumpy. The guys at my local shop said to get a medium to have more cockpit room but they seem to be a bit unprofessional so i left the place feeling a bit unsure. None the less i ordered a medium which they said they would order on monday, (today is saturday) . I have time to call them and request the small instead.

Question is what size should i go with? Bike is almost $3000 otd so i want to make the right choice as i feel thats a lot of money for a bike (for me at least).

Does the small just feels small because ive been riding a large and i have pretty much no expiriance as what right shoukd feel like anyways? Should i order small and just get used to it? (I guess some engineers already took the time to decide the right size for me after all right?) or Should i stick with medium since im already somewhat used to the larger size? I plan do trail riding some small jumps, some tecnical stuff. Im about 175lbs kinda large build from hitting the weights for a few years.