New 27.5 wife says $1k- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New 27.5 wife says $1k

So I am due for a new bike. I do a lot of rail to trail with some single track mixed in (wife grew up BMXing so that is what she prefers). I am a moderate to novice rider in the single track area as I use cleats and I still get nervous over obstacles.

I currently Have a Mongoose Alta Pro Hard tail that has seen better days. I am look at getting a 27.5 (I would not like a 29er) and based on availability in my area I have been looking at these 3 bikes:

Felt 7 Sixty
    Fuji Tahoe 27.5 1.5
    Scott Scale 770

I plan to use either my Candy's or my Mallet DH pedals so minus that I am uber torn on what to get. I would love some opinions on these 3 bikes. I am open to other bikes but I would have to order them and try them out which I am not super excited about.

Thanks in advanced for your advice.

Word of caution about the links: They list the Felt and the Scott as Titanium frames when they are in fact Aluminum.

******UPDATE 10/15/2014******

I am here to update this post in case anyone cares

I ended up with the Fuji for a number of reasons and for the most part I am extremely happy. The issues I am having I think I would have with any bike in this price range and they are most related to my heavier weight.

The XC 30 Fork comes with e medium spring and I believe I need a extra firm.

The only real issue I have is that under load (up hill) I have a hard time changing into gear 1-1. This caused me to loose a master link in the middle of a large group ride 2 Saturdays ago. I am not sure that there is a way to avoid this but I will leave that in another post.

Long story short I would recommend this for a great hard tail in the 1k range.
    Last edited by acpowell; 10-15-2014 at 07:52 AM.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    The scott scale looks the best overall to me and it has a more trail oriented geometry than the other two.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by kan3 View Post