mtbr member
    May 2018

My first upgrade...Need Crank set for Scott Aspect 770!

Hi all, I'm a newbie and need help with the crank set and bb on my Scott Aspect 770 27.5 21-speed.

After 4 months of riding, the stock parts can't take my abuse anymore. The crank arm bolt keeps loosening and distorting the crank arm square-tapered fitting. I replaced the crank arm and bottom bracket and the problem happened again.

Currently I have:
    Shimano crankset (FC-TY50 24/34/44 with riveted chainrings)
    Bottom bracket (BB-UN-100 cartridge)
    Front Derailer Shimano FD-TY50TS6 31.8mm

What's a decent crankset/bb I could upgrade to that would be more durable and not break the bank?

Thanks, Mike
    My first upgrade...Need Crank set for Scott Aspect 770!-20180504_160925.jpg
    My first upgrade...Need Crank set for Scott Aspect 770!-20180504_161158.jpg

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeyFresh View Post
    Hi all, I'm a newbie and need help with the crank set and bb on my Scott Aspect 770 27.5 21-speed.

After 4 months of riding, the stock parts can't take my abuse anymore. The crank arm bolt keeps loosening and distorting the crank arm square-tapered fitting. I replaced the crank arm and bottom bracket and the problem happened again.

Currently I have:
    Shimano crankset (FC-TY50 24/34/44 with riveted chainrings)
    Bottom bracket (BB-UN-100 cartridge)
    Front Derailer Shimano FD-TY50TS6 31.8mm

What's a decent crankset/bb I could upgrade to that would be more durable and not break the bank?

Thanks, Mike
    Do you have a budget in mind? M590/M610 Deore might work well and IMO are surprisingly good for the price. You'd need a new BB as you'd be going to external bearings, but it would be a pretty good upgrade from a square taper setup.