mtbr member

MBA wheel size shootout

Anybody else seen the March 2012 issue of Mountain Bike Action? They did another wheel size shootout. Amazingly enough 650b wins the day this time. Now that the writing's on the wall they had to do another story to reverse the last year + of them saying 650b is dead and going nowhere....
    what a bunch of tools
    ...they did get it right this time though

AZ
    banned
    What are you doing reading Mountain Bike Fiction?

mtbr member
    Yeah, I'm asking myself the same thing.....
    I'm happy to report that it wasn't purchased with my money... a coworker brought it to lunch today.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I also just read it, and it was the best apples to apples comparison yet. They tried to eliminate all the variables except wheel size, and did a pretty good job of it. I've been riding 29er's for 6 years now, and 10 years before that on 26" wheels, which I always thought were missing something. I'm glad 650's are coming on strong now- more choice is alway better.

bonked
    You mean the article mentioned in this thread?

http://forums.mtbr.com/650b-69er-new...-a-764720.html
    Quote Originally Posted by banks
    That is one big f'n dude!
    Yes I am!

mtbr member
    Yes, that's the one. You know, now that I think about it their earlier shootout was favorable toward 650b iirc, just wrong in predicting that it would not see wide spread adoption...so, maybe they deserve a little slack.....
    Naw....still tools

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    These are the same guys that spent years saying 29ers were inferior to 26 inch bikes. They suddenly changed their tune when 29er sales took off. Their articles are for one thing only, add revenue.
    Riding slowly since 1977.

The Bubble Wrap Hysteria
    I don't think we need MBA to justify what we already know about 650B. I just got back from a killer ride on my 650B HT......and was thinking why I rebuilt my 26er FS bike