Kona Unit 650B maiden voyage- Mtbr.com
    curds and gravy fool

Kona Unit 650B maiden voyage

Last friday it was 50F and sunny. I could not resist the urge to abandon all responsibility and drive down to the Cape to take the 650b'd Kona Unit on it's maiden voyage. I tried to sell this frame when I built up my Unit 29, but fortunately no one wanted it (lesson learned: hoard everything).

I've been riding a long time, but my mountain bike ownership have been quite limited. (please skip ahead if this part is boring, but I'm trying to frame my experience with the 650b ride appropriately). I've never owned a full suspension bike, and my last front suspension was a 1997 Manitou SXR- so I have zero experience with more modern forks. Bikes owned as follows: 1994 Kona Kilauea- ridden for 10 years, and eventually turned rigid singlespeed, Kona Unit singlespeed rigid -eventually with a 29er front wheel, and lastly a Kona Unit 29er.

I really never like the Unit 29er. This is certainly not a reflection on the concept of the 29er, just to say that I think Kona did a poor job on the frame design. They tried to keep the chainstays short by severely steepening the seat tube. As a result, no bar/stem combo ever felt right in relation to the front, and the rear always felt too sluggish for a singlespeed, regardless of gearing. It was just wrong.