Info Needed!- Mtbr.com

Thread: Info Needed!

mtbr member
    May 2020

Info Needed!

Ok. i bought a Giant Fathom. Almost one year. I need a new crank, skipping teeth under pressure. I'm 5'7" and 227 pounds, strong legs. I have a 10 speed and i need a 12 speed. I ride in the 10th gear 80% of the time. My first year of riding and only down once.

My question is? What crank and chain? Do I change over to a 12 speed? I'm a BMW tech and i'm pretty sure I can do the build. I know nothing about parts. I need a crank with strong torque, I assume! What would you recommend me do? I can not buy a new bike. I can put about $600 into it and tools $100. I ride 3 to 4 times a week on path and off and through water and rocks. I like a stiff ride!!

Tires to buy would be nice. i live in the desert, lots of thorns. TY

mtbr member
    I doubt you need a new crank, the crank arms and chain ring are most likely fine.

When you said you spend 80% of your time in 10th gear, do you mean the smallest cog in the chain ring or the biggest? If your in the smallest, a new cassette wont have any smaller cogs, just bigger ones for easier pedaling you hills and such.

*Edit

Is your Fathom a 2x10? With a front derailure and a rear?

mtbr member
    May 2020
    It's a 1 x10. Rear only. Smallest cog, I ride in. Why is it slipping? The bike shop had it 3 times, no fix. They replaced the chain. Said it was at 50%. I need more out of the bike when pedaling. So, it's not the gears. So, when at a stop and i'm in the upper gears ready to roll it slips. I'm new so I might not be that good with parts right now.

mtbr member
    A bigger chainring. I don't think having 12 gears to going to make a difference unless you are doing a lot of climbing. A new 10 speed cassette would probably be in order, hell, while your at it, give it a new chain also. so new chainring, new cassette and chain.
    EXODUX Jeff

Rider
    New, bigger ring. Look at Wolftooth.

mtbr member