mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Industry direction of 650b

I am a XXC type of guy, so my riding style does not require these 5.5 inch 650b all-mountain bikes.

Currently I have my spark 30 set up with a lefty and 650b front and kept the back at a 26 because I can run a 2.2 tire with ample clearance as opposed to a 2.0 tire with 5mm of clearance.

From reading the numerous forums and bike sites it seems the industry is sending any XC and light trail stuff to 29 and maybe sending the burly all mountain stuff to 650b.

I wonder because I am wondering whether to wait it out for 650 to make a bigger splash in the XC market or just join the zombie masses.

Anybody have any thoughts?
    Broadway Bikes: Grease Monkey/Sales/you name it, we do it

Rubber side down is never bad!

mtbr member
    I've been racing xxc and 100s on 650b for a few years now. It's money. And no trail REQUIRES 5.5" of travel, but you go faster that way. I've been racing on 140mm with no problems.

The industry doesn't know where it's going yet. Usually never does. It's not a monolith.

Enjoy the travel.

mk

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    When Scott is involved you can put your money on that they will have something in the bracket your after.

Wrench
    You know, numerous Santa Cruz models would work.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    As a member of the zombie market, I will agree with gvs. Scott is pointing toward a race level scale and spark, both very XC. It seems to me that the main emphasis is coming from Europe, which has a much more XC/enduro interest than what seems to drive the US/Canadian Market. If this assumption is correct, and given that 29ers are still given the cold shoulder in Europe, I think 650b will have a strong XC presence.

just some guy
    Quote Originally Posted by chwesley View Post
    I am a XXC type of guy, so my riding style does not require these 5.5 inch 650b all-mountain bikes.