mtbr member
    Apr 2016

Help on first Hardtail build

So my plan is to buy a full suspension upgrade at some point between now and spring. Would like to build my first bike 27.5 or 27.5+,I am a beginner but would like any input /Recommendations.

I want a build that I can take out and just have fun on the trails and small jumps. Donít have a huge budget but want something of decent quality at the end.

Anyone has any recommendations or has anything theyíre booking to sell that might be of interest please let me know.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    Also if there is a better thread for this to be posted in please let me know. I just know I wanted 27.5 wheels so I posted it here

mtbr member
    I'd you don't have a big budget, your probably better off just buying a complete hardtail. There are only a handful of 27.5 frames you can buy, and those will run you $400 or more. Once you start buying everything else, it's going to add up quickly. You can buy a decent complete hardtail for around $1000.

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by Timothy G. Parrish View Post
    I'd you don't have a big budget, your probably better off just buying a complete hardtail. There are only a handful of 27.5 frames you can buy, and those will run you $400 or more. Once you start buying everything else, it's going to add up quickly. You can buy a decent complete hardtail for around $1000.
    Thanks Timothy but I am perfectly fine with $1000 at the end of the build. I just mean I donít need some high-end frame and components thatís going to run me much more than 1000$-1500$.

My main point on building the bike is because it something that Iím sure I would enjoy. Not necessarily to save money. Iíve been working on motorcycles and rebuilding vintage motorcycles for years and really enjoyed that so I figured I may as well try and build a bicycle.

Thanks a lot for you input.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008