mtbr member
    Feb 2017

Hawk hill 27.5 or rift zone?

So I just came back from performance bike and saw two full suspension bikes on sale. I need recommendation if I should consider any of these

1. 2018 Marin hawk hill 27.5 - $1065
    2. 2018 Marin rift zone 29.5- $1165

Any of these any good?
    Also to confuse myself even more I saw a post of someone getting a diamondback release 1 for $1500 and he said it has better specs. I could find that price but can wait if itís a better bike.

Or the hawk hill 27.5 for $1065 is a good or great deal?

I am new to mtn biking and believe that I donít have to spend thousands of dollars to have fun. I just want to spend once and know that for the price point I am getting the best.

mtbr member
    Apr 2018
    I have a 2018 Hawk Hill 1. I think you are looking at the 2019 which is virtually unchanged except the color. I've been super happy with it - it was a great value at $1400 and listed for $1499.

The 2019s that you are looking at are great deals at those prices - I would not expect to get those bikes for anywhere near that price from any one that is NOT going out of business. Around here virtually all of the remaining shops are getting MSRP+ for bikes - no discounts at all. And we've lost 9 stores in the last year (Bike America and Performance)...

All that said, you can get a much better bike for considerably more $ - it all depends on what you are looking to do.

I've had my Hawk Hill 1 since last spring and have ridden it quite a bit. It has served me well as a first full-suspension bike. I've ridden some higher end bikes and they have their advantages but the Marin is not holding me back in any way - I'm having a blast with it.