Hard choice: Knolly Delirium vs Canfield Balance vs Mondraker Dune?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2017

Hard choice: Knolly Delirium vs Canfield Balance vs Mondraker Dune?

I'm in the market for a new full-suspension bike, I guess.

After a lot of reflecting, thinking, considering, looking at loads and loads of bikes, etc. I've narrowed it down to 3 bikes: Knolly Delirium, Canfield Brothers Balance, or Mondraker Dune.

Between those three, however, I'm pretty much undecided.
    In parts, this is also because of the bikes I'm currently riding and which I don't want to make superfluous.

Some more information:
    I've been riding "freeride hardtails" for about 12 years now, and 2 years ago decided my trusty Kona Chute was a bit outdated. It was replaced with my new Do-it-all hardtail, a Stanton Switchback with Manitou Mattoc Pro. Basically, there's nothing the bike can't handle, and I love riding it. There are times where a full-sus would be nice, though: long, rough descents in the Alps (living Switzerland), going a bit faster through nasty terrain, or that extra bit of margin for errors you get with a rear suspension.
    Then my Intense M9. Still (to my eyes, at least) one of the most beautiful bikes ever built, and for a non-pro still easily able to keep up with most newer DH bikes.

I love these two bikes, and it would be a pain to see them being replaced by the new one.

Thoughts on the three candidates:

The Balance is lauded everywhere for being an incredibly good bike, both up- and downhill, with an fantastic suspension. It's geometry, however, is a bit more traditional. Slightly longer than it used to be, granted, but still not too progressive. Pretty close to the Switchback in terms of use: enduro and all-mountain tours, playful due to short chainstays. Extremely similar, but with the addition of an rear suspension.