First Post - need some advice!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2020

First Post - need some advice!!

I have been riding Florida trails for 3-4 months on a trek hardtail that I just sold, there are some steep ups and downs, rock and roots (believe it or not we do have some hills at old mines) and tight corners and some technical trails. No extreme downhill riding though. There are also long flat trails.
    I want to upgrade to a full suspension bike, good for trails here.
    I am really leaning towards 27.5 wheels.
    I can go up to around 4k.
    Im looking at maybe the 5010 or trance, as they can order them at my local shop. Not sure how much travel i need for the florida trails, any advice here? Was thinking around 130-140?
    Any other suggestions for a versitile 27.5 trail bike?
    Would the 5010 be good for all purpose bike? I dont really do big jumps or tricks like its advertised for, is the bike only good for people who do that type of riding?

Practice Gratitude

Hello.

Hello and welcome to the forums,

After some reading online it seems that both the Santa Cruz 5010 and the Giant Trance are more than capable and amazing machines for what you are looking for. The best bet is always to test ride each and pick the best fit/feel but here was an article that describes both bicycles (it's a few years older at 2018 but they have the 5010 as more XC oriented on their chart with the Trance as more downhill oriented):

https://blisterreview.com/gear-revie...de-comparisons

I'd be certain to make sure on the specifications of each bicycle. It seems to me that the 5010 looks specc'd a bit better, imho.

Best regards,
    Jason
    ďIt never gets easier, you just get faster.Ē ~ Greg LeMond

2012 Specialized Carve

mtbr member
    Look up Clint Gibbs on youtube, he's a fla guy and had a lot of older videos comparing xc and trail bikes and the advantages of each.
    Number one, though, is try to demo as many as you can.