which aggressive hardtail should i buy?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2018

which aggressive hardtail should i buy?

So i've decided to upgrade my beginner xc hardtail to something better for descending and jumping.

im not sure what geo is better for jumping but it seems that most dirt jumpers have a more upright HA and shot chain stays.
    i do know that long and slack is good for descending though.

thats mostly what i do, lap the steeper trails at my local network and hit the jump park when i can. im not a very accomplished jumper, im not good at gaps, but i can pull off whips and one handers on comfy jumps, so having a bike that can jump would be good.

ive been looking at the marin san quentin 1, it seems like a good option but im not sure how the coil suspension would fair.

my budget is about 1200-1300 USD

ive also looked at the diamondback syncr, which is slightly more expensive. i have thought about getting a frame, but it seems more expensive.
    If You didn't start on a Hardtail you're doing it Wrong

Wanna ride bikes?
    Mountain bike/trail jumps are nothing like proper Dirt Jumps, hence a very different design. Stay focused on a Trail bike, that's what you want.

That San Quentin 1 is a pretty entry level bike, it would be worth jumping up to the San Quentin 2. Thru axles, air fork, etc.

If you have a $12-1,300 budget, spend more than $900. Sub $1k is a really tough price point for manufacturers. Many compromises have to be made on components to hit that price. Non-tubeless wheels, QR wheels, Spring fork, etc. If you're making a new purchase get it right the first time so you don't have to "upgrade" again next year. Or, check out some lightly used bikes and get better bang for your buck.

I'm not familiar with too many 27.5 bikes, I'm sure others will throw out some other options.
    Rigid SS 29er
    SS 29+
    Fat Lefty
    SS cyclocross
    Full Sus 29er (Yuck)

Stop asking how much it weighs and just go ride it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2018