5010 build ...choices, choices...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2019

5010 build ...choices, choices...

I think I'm leaning towards the 5010, and getting close to pulling the trigger before the season starts getting away from me. Just a little conflicted on the exact build. I've gone from Aluminum R build ($3400, 32.4lbs) to trying to talk myself into somehow stretching out to Carbon C S build ($4900, 28.8lbs)...WTH is wrong with me?!?

I rode a demo 5010 from the LBS that was an XO1 Carbon CC ($6900, 26.9lbs), and of course was awesome (damn them). I'm a beginner that will "probably" be hangin on to this for a while. I just dont want to get an inferior spec'd bike that weighs much more, and regret it.

Also - each build of course has the option of regular (2.3" Maxxis), or + (2.6" Maxxis) builds. I noticed the + adds about 3/4lb to the overall weight)...what is the right reason to get + over the non+?

I'm not even sure why I am so caught up on weight, because I have plenty of my own to lose, but that demo just felt so light and agile. Does an additional 4-5lbs change this if I went with an AL bike?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. I can overanalyze this to death, and talk myself into spending another $1500...I just dont know if its worth it...and if I did in fact want to get a different bike in a year of 2...not sure how much I'd get back out of it on resale...?

mtbr member
    Aug 2018
    I originally wanted a R+ Aluminum build but ended up with a Carbon C R build. Changed the wheelset out for a wider set and made my own R+ build.

After seeing the Aluminum models in the wild, I'm glad I went the Carbon C frame, it just looks better IMO. Weight difference is not much really.
    2019 Santa Cruz 5010 Carbon C. R Build, in Purple.
    Spank//i9//Deity//Magura//MRP

mtbr member
    Dec 2017