Which 27.5 Wheelset?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Which 27.5 Wheelset?

I've been off the bike for a few years and have not really kept up with bike tech or products for even longer. I started riding again recently and decided it was time to replace my 2011 Santa Cruz Nickel with a new Mach 6 carbon, pretty excited to be getting a new bike.

I think I'm pretty happy with the build as is, but if I do decide to upgrade anything it would probably be the wheels and tires. It came with the DT Swiss M1900 wheelset.

What are some good options for 27.5 wheels? I'm looking at Industry 9's offerings, but wondering what else may be out there I dont know about. I dont really have a firm budget but I dont want to waste money either. I'm open to carbon or aluminum rims. Thanks for any thoughts or suggestions.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    Hope Fortus is a good option. The prices are pretty good, and the hub has high engagement so it would "feel" nicer than the DT 1900's. They are also easy to swap to almost any standard, so they wont really go obsolete years from now (this is true for the DT as well).

In theory you can upgrade the 1900 to a 54t ratchet, but the cost probably isn't worth it (about $200 for all the parts I think)

shimano XT is another option... the new shimano wheels (provided you are using shimano 12 speed of course) are actually very very nice.

mtbr member
    Oct 2015
    What don't you like about the current wheelset? weight? inner width? points of engagement? That way we can help you find what you need.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by smashysmashy View Post
    Hope Fortus is a good option. The prices are pretty good, and the hub has high engagement so it would "feel" nicer than the DT 1900's. They are also easy to swap to almost any standard, so they wont really go obsolete years from now (this is true for the DT as well).