27.5 vs 29'er hype?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2014

27.5 vs 29'er hype?

Just wondering if the whole 27.5 vs 29'er is all hype to get us to spend more money. I've been riding a carbon 29'er for 3 years now. Very happy with it. Don't know anyone who has a 27.5, but I don't want to be "late to the party" if you know what I mean.

What I want to know is if switching from a 29'er to a 27.5 will be as noticeable as my switch from 26 to 29.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I noticed my 29 bike is 3" more than my 26 bikes with 650B in between.

I could be the wrong person to ask much more because wheel size and and other stuff like what pedals you use as tribe or religion passed me by.

Who should wear spandex, and riders who don't do trail work or donate money to the sport might get me going a little more.

mtbr member
    Blah blah...the evil bike companies...blah blah....evil marketing...blah blah.

Just ride what you like.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    Uh, thanks? I guess.

mtbr member
    Look. Some ppl are gonna say one is better than the other. Others will say 27.5 is a scam by the evil corporations to fleece the consumer.

I have a 26, 27.5, and a 29er in the garage. They all ride different....each has its own personality, nevermind geometry.

That's why I said just ride what you like. Go demo bikes and decide for yourself if you like the feel, because the truth is nobody can answer that for you.

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005
    Or just search and read any of the other 2 million similar threads on this forum instead of posting another one.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I'm going to ride what I have which is a 26, and ride it until it can't be ridden anymore.
    That and a road bike is enough to keep me happy.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    This is such a great website for riders. So many intelligent and helpful answers. This has to be the best website on the internet! Especially for beginners.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014