Thread: Why 26?

mtbr member
    Jun 2017

Why 26?

I have the chance of a couple really nice equipped 26Ē FS MTB, or basic components 29er. The 29er even cost more vs the 26erís. Anyone here regret their 26 vs a 29?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Dec 2017
    I normally ride a 29er rockhopper. Honestly I'm faster on it because of the mechanical advantages it gives. Better drive train ratios, larger tire allowing sustained higher speeds, ability to roll over an obstacle when I neglect to float to the front. That said I'm still a novice and a lot of seasoned riders pass me on their "old" 26er. Technology will never replace the rider, but it sure seems to go a long way in making you look like a better one. Fwiw my son picked up a used kona hahanna and on easy portions of trail has no problem keeping up. When things get rough though the modern bikes seem to just walk away.

Music & Bikes
    I tried 700 wheels and never liked it , the wheels weights more if you compare with similar products and that reflects in the handling , acceleration and deceleration.

If you absolutely want want something "newer" or "new trend" , I would go with 650 wheels wich is almost the same thing as a 26''
    "There is a big difference between kneeling down and bending over" -FZ

mtbr member
    I have an ibis HDR set up 26 and a yeti sb66, they are fantastic bikes. While 29ers have gotten a lot better, a mid range one isn't going to be better then a high end 26er. It also depends on your trails, the less twisty and jumpy your trails are the more the 29er is going to be faster. What bikes are you looking at?
    Looking for a Medium Scott Scale frame, preferably a 2012 in 26.

mbtr member
    Quote Originally Posted by mypupdaisy View Post
    I have the chance of a couple really nice equipped 26Ē FS MTB, or basic components 29er. The 29er even cost more vs the 26erís. Anyone here regret their 26 vs a 29?

Thanks

Man you've been posting hard!

You already know my opinion...