mtbr member
    Aug 2018

Newbie looking for some help with tires

Hello all!
    I am a newbie at modern mountain biking, but just received an old 2003 Gary Fisher Marlin. Its in great shape and should get me back to riding. I need new tires though and I am totally lost on what I should get. (Im even new to the smaller valve these tires use!)
    Currently have 26 X 2.10 To fit HB 575 rim. same on both front and back.
    Was wondering
    1. Could I go with a fatter tire? I like the look of the fat tire bikes, but don't know if I could do that on this bike.

2. What would be your recommendations for a not so expensive replacement tire and inner tubes to be used primarily on city roads, with some beginner trail rides here and there.

3. Where is the best place to buy?

Thank you in advance for your time and sharing your experience. I am looking forward to learning what mods I can do on this thing!

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Look up Schwalbe Rapid Rob 26" x 2.25 with Presta tubes on Amazon, eBay, or any other similar online retailer. You can get these as a 2 tire & 2 tube combo set for around $50, or $40 for 2 tires without tubes.

These are XC tires with a very low rolling resistance (great for city roads), and pretty good puncture resistance. These also have good side knobs that will let you ride beginner trails with absolute confidence.

Get a nice floor pump to regularly check your tire pressures. I recommend to run there at around 28psi (a bit lower if you are 180 Lbs or less, or a bit more if above 220 Lbs with gear on).

mtbr member
    Aug 2018
    Thanks so much Blundar!!!! Will be checking for those now!

mtbr member
    What 26x2.1 tire do you currently use? Some tires differ from their published width.