Need Your Thoughts (3x8 to 1x10) New to all of this- Mtbr.com
    26erFanatic

Need Your Thoughts (3x8 to 1x10) New to all of this

Hi. I recently bought a 2007 Kona Kikapu (all stock) for 140 USD. Everything's working and the bike's in good condition but I thought it would be fun to convert to a 1x10. The setup I'm currently thinking is an Shimano Zee FR RD, Deore 10-speed shifter, 11-36 tooth cassette (this is the limit of the RD), and a 32 tooth crank. This would cost me roughly the same price I paid for the bike. Would it be worth it? I'm not even sure if I can swith to a hollowtech or if the rear hub would fit a 10 speed. Thanks.

P.S. I'm new to mountain biking and it's my only bike.

26erFanatic

mtbr member
    Having $300 into a bike you like to ride sounds worth it. But other than the fun of it, is there a reason you're wanting to switch to 1x? I went 1x11 on my 26er, I was looking to increase ground clearance (tired of catching big ring on logs), drop some weight, and just simplify my bike overall. I have 32T up front and 11-46 out back. I don't feel like I sacrificed anything on the low end, but I definitely sacrificed top end speed. The setup you are contemplating is going to require some sacrifice on both sides of the spectrum, but that may or may not be an issue depending on your riding style.

The crank and cassette will not be an issue, you may or may not need spacers for the BB but it is definitely compatible one way or another.

26erFanatic
    Quote Originally Posted by flitzr951 View Post