Help with converting groupset to single speed- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2020

Help with converting groupset to single speed

Hi, I'm looking to swap the drivetrain on my 2010 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp, and have a few questions about what systems are compatible. The bike has a hope pro 2 evo rear hub too.

Would any of the SRAM NX or SX groupsets fit?

I know I might need to look at replacing the rear hub and/or the bottom bracket, but don't really know what I'm looking for.

Sorry if this is a silly question, or it's been answered elsewhere, I'm quite new to biking!

mtbr member
    Why would you want anything with a derailer for a singlespeed bike? I am confused.

BOOM goes the dynamite!
    Quote Originally Posted by mack_turtle View Post
    Why would you want anything with a derailer for a singlespeed bike? I am confused.
    Gotta use it or another chain tensioner on a ful sus. Just learned that the other day here. I still don't understand the bit about how he made it work since none of my rear derailleurs has a barrel adjuster.
    :nono: :thumbsup:

mtbr member
    May 2020
    Quote Originally Posted by mack_turtle View Post
    Sorry, looking back I haven't worded my post very well!

What I meant was converting to a single front chainring, but still having a rear cassette and derailleur. It's currently running a 3 x 7 i think & I want to change to a 1 x 10, 1 x 11 or 1 x 12 so removing the front derailleur.

thanks

mtbr member
    Thank you for clarifying. Singlespeed means you have only one gear front, one gear rear. No shifting.

BOOM goes the dynamite!
    The price to performance ratio says generally go with Shimano for drivetrain stuff these days. What's on there now, what you're looking to gain by switching and budget would determine the course of action.
    :nono: :thumbsup:

mtbr member
    May 2020
    Thanks for the info.