HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2020

HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent

Hi,I'm new in mtbr and wanted to get some help on converting my old bike frame.I have a 1991 DB Ascent and wanted to convert it to a dropbar with brifters. I recently got hold of a Shimano Claris 2400 set (brifters, RD and FD). It also came with a FSA Gossamer Crankset (CKM-6100 and a Mega Exo BB). I also got Dia-Compe 986 cantilever brakes since the dual pivots won't fit my setup. I had my LBS put in the parts and things were going great. Hit a bit of a snag installing the crankset as the BB needed a spacer so that my left arm won't hit the chainstays. But then one of the mechanics said that my spindle was too short. It was a road type and I needed an MTB one, he said. (I'm guessing this is because the BB was a 68mm and my BB shell on the frame was a 73mm).Anyway while riding home, my left arm crank suddenly fell out. So I had to push my bike and walk home (LBS was already closed by the time I left them).I wanted to know what would cause this? I'm guessing its because of my BB? Should I replace my BB with a 73mm? Or would I need to replace the whole crankset?If replacing my BB would be the solution, would any BB be compatible with the FSA cranks?Thanks! (sorry, im such a noob).The following photos are my old bike setup and the new one (still being rigged though).As well as photos of the FSA crankset.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent-img_8704.jpg  

HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent-img_4635.jpg  

HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent-img_4637-2.jpg  

HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent-img_4640-2.jpg  

HELP with converting a 1991 Diamondback Ascent-img_4639-2.jpg  

Your Best Friend
    You need new cranks with a longer spindle.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    I'm a mountain bike guide in southwest Utah

mtbr member
    Jul 2020